on horseback first served the families living on the Little Blanco River
in southern Blanco County beginning in 1860. These German-speaking pioneer families later organized the
congregation in 1906 as “Trinitatis Lutherische Gemeinde.” They met for years in homes and the local
schoolhouse until they built a church in Twin Sisters in April 1920. After serving this community 30
years, the congregation moved to the growing town of Blanco, where Trinity Lutheran Church was dedicated
on August 20, 1950.
The current church building, located at 7th & Main Streets, consists of a unique sanctuary with
beautiful stained glass windows and the church’s original wooden altar. An educational wing was added
in the 1960’s to accommodate the growing congregation and provide more room for Sunday School classes.
In 2003, the congregation expanded once again to provide a spacious fellowship hall, large kitchen,
restrooms, and a youth room.